How is the Group "Canvas" feature used?

I’m working my way through the wiki for Synfig and they mention a Canvas parameter for groups.
If anyone can point to an example of how this is used, or just explain it I will thank you.
Why would you not just swap in different jpgs at different points of the animation?
Sorry, total newbee here.

Thanks!

hi, good day.

I’ll try to explaing a little about it, sorry ma bad english and dislexia xDD

1)- I’m working my way through the wiki for Synfig and they mention a Canvas parameter for groups.
Execelent, I learn the same way, looking videos on youtube and helping in some projects, like the first animation of Morevna, I learn a lot seeing the videos of Konstantin Dmitriev in youtube, I dont speak Russian but learn somethings just looking how he made it.

2)- If anyone can point to an example of how this is used, or just explain it I will thank you.
About the Canvas group, Well, I neve really understand was the utility more than have the name of the project or canvas. But you can import another .Sfiz file or “canvas” into the curret project or “canvas”, this is usefull if you want to make a scene with some characters the can vectorize and animated it in his owns .sfiz (canvas) and mix togeder int he final one, this make a pipeline that if you make some change in the original .sfiz file the change automatic.

I’ll leave you this example with one of my works:

This one is the final Scene (without the Background)
01 Final CLS01-03-mix.sifz (1.3 KB)

This are the characters with some animations and filters:
CLS01-03-NoCamaras-CHA.sifz (1.1 KB)
CLS01-03-NoCamaras-XtraA.sifz (1.2 KB)
CLS01-03-NoCamaras-XtraB.sifz (1.2 KB)

And this are the same character with the cycle moves
CLS01-03CHA.sifz (25.0 KB)
CLS01-03xtra-A.sifz (20.4 KB)
CLS01-03xtra-B.sifz (24.8 KB)

You must need have all the 7 files in the same Folder to make the Final Mix file works (I hope XDD)