Rendering during interaction

Hi,

I’m new to Synfig, so there may be a quick answer for this, but is there any way to get Synfig to draw (even a draft of) an object you’re editing, while you’re dragging it or one of its handles? At least for low-complexity scenes?

For context, I’m trying to use Synfig to design some iconography for a game I’m developing. The only thing on the canvas is a single Advanced Outline layer, which I’m using to create some artistic swooshes (technical term, that) using curve and width manipulation. It’s really difficult to get the right look, though, because every time I want to change something, I have to find the handle, drag it, and then drop it - at which point, if it doesn’t look right I have to go find the handle again (since snapping may have left it somewhere other than where my mouse cursor currently is) and repeat the process.

All I could find when searching was this 7-year-old topic:

Has there been any progress on this since then? The point that @BobSynfig raises about calculation times doesn’t really apply in my scenario and with modern hardware, and even if it did I’d much rather hold my mouse in place while the render finishes, so that I don’t have to interrupt my flow by wrangling the UI before getting back to the art. Even an option that just renders it if you hold your cursor still during a manipulation would be a massive improvement.

Even better would be an option to hide the handles you’re dragging while you do so (perhaps using a modifier key or shortcut) so that you could see the art without the UI getting in the way, for cases where the handles obscure fine details. Though if Synfig has a GIMP-style “new view on the same canvas” functionality, that’d work just fine, so long as the manipulators weren’t drawn on the second view as well.

I’m trying to understand, but maybe a visual with the explanation will help me. Could you demonstrate the issue via video and then state what you want to achieve, please?