problem drawing a few shapes...

Hello,
I have only today installed synfig studio on my mandriva 2008.1 laptop. This time i used the rpms given by mandriva whereas last time i had compiled it myself. All this owing to a hardware crash :frowning:

OK, the issue here is that iā€™m unable to draw several shapes on the canvas. For example, i can use the pencil tool on the canvas but if i try to make a circle, i get nothing.
I am very new to synfig, in fact, this is my first attempt to do anything with it except for installing it. Iā€™m not sure but i think i didnt have this problem when i had compiled it from source.
Please help.
Regards,
Soumen

Hi soumen08,
donā€™t worry, Iā€™m sure it is something very easy to solve.
I assume that youā€™re using the rpm packages from the links of the download pages. Be sure that you have the latest version they have available.

Did you mean the tool with the ā€œInkā€ icon or the tool with the ā€œPencilā€ icon? The pencil tool doesnā€™t create any layer it just draw sketches.
When you use the circle tool, do you click and drag or simply click? Does it creates a new entry in the layer panel but the layer is not visible in the canvas window? Whatā€™s the default blend method and the default color you have in the Tool box?

Check this for quick reference: synfig.org/Quick_Overview
-G

Hello,
I used the pencil tool. If i attempt to use the circle, after clicking and dragging, i see some values like radius and center in the lowermost window under the params tab. Everything looks OK,. The foreground is a light pink and the background white (i mean the values on the TAB, on the canvas i see nothing at all). And yes i do see a new layer appear in the layers window. I used mandriva repository packages. The version is 61.09
Please let me know what can be done?
Regards,
Soumen

Paste a screenshot of your desktop to understand whatā€™s happening. Also try to save the file and post it here too. I canā€™t figure it out without a visual feed back.