Make Simple things simple, Complex things complex

I’m a noob to synfig, so I can see things with new eyes that some of the users here might not able to because they are used to the tool. This also means that I’m not experienced enough to understand the tool. With this disclaimer out of the way, I’ll move with the actual criticism of Synfig

Here are some extremely frustrating things about Synfig (despite its beauty in other areas)

1. Simple things like setting a known width & height is needlessly complex. Its requires people to look at coordinates & perform some math operations outside the tool (for e.g, try setting a width of 32 to a rectangle whose point1 is at 195px, -40.32px & point2 is at 245.573px, -75px & see how needslessly complex this simple operation is)
  2. Moving a rectangle (not resizing) requires asking an expert/looking up documentation atleast for the first time, when in reality this should be the most basic everyone expects
  3. A simple & most useful operation such as relative alignment requires user to open calculator, do some math outside & come back to the tool (or) enable grid & snap to grid & if snapping is leaving artifacts, its requires people to do math (I’m not saying in animation math is not important, but math is only required for people who require mathematical accuracy, not for every animator where look & feel at the correct width is more than good enough)

I know Synfig is open source & also understand that its easy to criticise than it is to actually do it (that too with minimal funding or sometimes not at all), but does not mean the tool have to suck, despite having decent quality engine

I’m sure some (I dare say most of you too) are too frustrated with some of these basic things in Synfig such as relative alignment & also expectation of the tool for your to be a math expert at some level