Demo-05

Hey, again, I need to trace this keyframe image for scene 05. In this scene characters are not animated. Like in scene 14 - no colors for now, just black lines and white fills. Shading will be added later.

Files to work with here in git repo: git.tuxfamily.org/morevna/demo.g … dacbf94902 (05/05-draft-01.png, 05/05-draft-02.png, 05/05-ivan-morevna.sif)

I’ve put Ivan’s hairs onto separate layer, so it will be easier to work with his face. His hairs are quite messy, but I will be happy if you will be able to represent that mess with synfig shapes. Though, it’s not trivial and could be not possible. Anyway, good luck!

Ok, I’m trying to do this one. Except I missed the “no colors” warning… I’m shading Ivan with solid, but unshaded, colors, and it doesn’t look half bad.

I’m attaching a copy of my work in progress. I’m still learning how to trace with Synfig, so please tell me anything that could be improved (as well as what you think of the overall quality of my work).

Note: the head is a placeholder, and the right arm might need to be redrawn.
05-ivan-morevna.sifz (31.3 KB)

The reason for just flat image with not colors is because it is going to be printed and shaded again by hand for a later shade in synfig.
Good luck.
-G

Hi, nikitakit!

First of all, thank you for working on screenplay translation! This is a great help to the project! :slight_smile:

About the traced scene.

The source file is structured well, I was surprised to see your method of coloring black lines. That was new to me.

The first thing what I see is an almost complete absence of sharp corners.

Try to catch the textile flow. Don’t try to make whole area with a single shape. Use muiltiple of them! Connect vertices with “Link” or “Link to BLine” functions.

For example, jacket could be represented with a few regions. I drawing one of them trying to follow spline flow between sharp corners. Usually shapes between sharp corners could be represented with a smooth and simple shapes.