Zutron the zany self-replicating probe

Here is the first test of this character I’ve made. For some reason the playback on youtube looks really jumpy to me while the original file runs smoothly on my computer. How does it play for others?

it was a ffmpeg .avi 2000bps 1280X720

It took 100 years to render, I want it to work! lol

youtu.be/5A1liKqrprU

ok. I reloaded my browser and that fixed it. Hope you like!

Really nice. :slight_smile:

That was very nice - a very clever bit of animation indeed.

Thanks guys!

A bit of feed back, if you don’t mind… What jumps out as immediately problematic in this? Additions to either the portal or the character?

What interpolation would give that “eye” the most mechanical movement?

And if there are people who don’t KNOW how that was done, please take a guess. :slight_smile:

Mmm… I’m just a noob Synfig user, so I can’t be of great help for you. I think you could give some motion to the “C” part of the robot (the part that holds the spherical one), maybe rotating it a bit on its axis while the entire robot moves. And you could give some volume to the devices at the base of the antennas (unless you made them that way for a stylistic choice, of course).

We think alike. The plan was to put a rotation layer over the whole thing, so as it can wobble. I was at some point also going to point animate that “c” part. With enough work I could have that “c” do a 360 around the sphere if I want.

Then I have scanning and laser effect to come up with… would you believe all this was meant for a 5 second gag? lol

I know… there’s usually a lot of work behind a - even short - good scene. But result pays back! :wink:
What’s your animation intended for, if I may ask?

“Zutron the zany self-replicating alien prob” and the credit animations I just posted are all for a YouTube variety show. Absurdist comedy. The credits themselves are lampoons of the generic nature of entertainment.