Working with Z Depth, Groups and Blend methods

Hello Synfig forum,

This is my first post. I’m a total beginner at Synfig and animation in general. I am eager to learn and have already spent some time researching the manual, forum and youtube tutorials as well as experimenting with the many features. If I am writing here today it’s because I’m stuck. Before I tell you my problem, I would like to share my enthusiasm for this wonderful software and thank all the developers and contributors to this project for making this very powerful tool accessible to all.

I am trying to have a character sit inside the glass cockpit of a flying saucer and later on having him get out from his vehicle for the rest of the animation. I have problems with those two things.

1°) Having the character sit in the cockpit

I have 4 elements in my flying saucer group layer:

-the man (“M”)
-the glass cockpit (with 0,5 opacity) (“G”)
-the inside of the spaceship which you can see through the glass cockpit (“I”)
-the exterior of the main body of the spaceship (“S”)

The problem is that I need to have

S > M > I
i.e. the man is behind the ship and in front of the ship interior.

as well as

I > S
i.e. the layer representing the inside of the ship covers the exterior of the ship (I have achieved this using the “onto” Blend method).

This seems impossible. The interior cannot be underneath an object (the man) which is itself underneath an object (the ship) that is below it. However, I imagine there must be a workaround because this situation does not seem far-fetched and Synfig has an impressive set of tools.

I tried every possible combination of grouping layers and blend method I can think of. There are two possible solutions that I came up with but they have flaws.