Unwanted Bracketed way points when I add new object

I’m new to synfig.

I’ve successfully added keyframes and the resulting animations of the images works perfectly.

A problem arises when I add a new object after I’ve completely added waypoints for the initial objects.

Let’s term them Object O and Object N.
I’ll completely animate the original object “O”.

When I try to animate the new object “N” I’ll enter say keyframe #10 and change some parameter of the object N.
Instead of a single set of way points three sets appear.

The first is on keyframe #10 with the correct settings.
But on the left(#9) and right (#11) of it are two other sets of way points that are created that contradict my changes, that is they duplicate the original state of the object.

So instead of a smooth transition from keyframe #1 to #10 nothing happens until keyframe #10 is reached then there is a single keyframe of the new settings, and it switches back to the initial settings from keyframe #1 once keyframe #11 is reached.

This requires that I laboriously remove these “wingmen”.
It only occurs when I add a new object after I’ve created all keyframes for the previous object.
Is there something I am doing wrong?

Thanks
MJC

Hello MJC,

Keyframes store the state of the entire animation at their frame, so when you add a knew object to the scene after declaring a whole set of keyframes already, every keyframe saves the state of this object.
Then when you modify the object at one keyframe, the surrounding keyframes make sure it retains the stored state.

To avoid creating these “wingmen” you can just temporily turn off the keyframes that you don’t want to influence your animation.

Best regards.