Top-level source reorganization

Hi,

I took longer than I should have to understand the file organization in the repo, so I want organize to the files with the goal of having a project structure that can be easily understood.

The main problem is that the top-level of the repo is littered with utility files and directories. Just with the scripts, there are 14 .sh and 1 .bat file.

Therefore, I propose that all those scripts are moved to a new ‘tools’ directory.

I’m assuming all those scripts expect to be at the top level, and moving them to the ‘tools’ directory requires them to be modified, and possible to update documentation. These modification are a good thing because that inflexibility is what lead to the mess.

Thoughts?

Not sure this would please the lead devs (I’m basically a translator, I did only a few modifications).

Top-level scripts are supposed to be here for ease of access and to let the choice.

For the rest…
I agree that the source structure is “heavy”, it has already been a bit reworked in the past but it is still quite messy.
And I’m not even talking about 5000+ lines sources which are a patchwork of mixed concerns.
Functions of hundreds of lines make me sick even though modern IDEs can handle direct access to them.

Also there are in-progress works and I’m not sure a deep change would be merged.

To quote myself in this PR:

I made a separated module to avoid to introduce complexity and separation of concerns.
Based on ffmpeg module, it has different parameters, also a different configuration dialog.
“Multiplexed code” is adding conditions and removing lisibility (intention → goal → result).
That’s also the reason I like vertical alignment, then source has to be seen in its globality, not line-by-line.
And a separated module also permits to avoid to mess the original code with such formatting.

KISS :wink:
In general, as we operate in open-source code and wish more contributions, there is a limit in complexity that should be not reached.