"The value you are trying to edit is in a composition that doesn't seem to be open"

Hi. I’m a beginner/intermediate animator who is trying to migrate from Pencil2D to Synfig Studio. I’m rather new to the software, as I only discovered it a month prior.

I’m currently working with bitmap images (PNG), with every single part in its own layer and groups (I’m trying to stay organized), but I keep on getting this message:

I haven’t figured out what “compositions” are, and how to open them. Can anyone tell me how to open them so I can edit them? I’m gonna need some step-by-step instructions/images to work with, as I’m still new to the software, as I’ve said before.

Hi,

Pencil2D and Synfig are too very different programs, so you may have some struggles.
The error that you’re getting tells you that you’re trying to modify external resource (canvas) that you imported into your main scene.

You do remember hitting this “Import” button?
MenuImport

If you chose another .sif file then this is what Synfig doesn’t like.
In order to edit one .sif file (what is referred as ‘composition’ in your error message) from another .sif file you need to have both files open in separate tabs.

So, if you have file named “Scene1.sif” and you imported a file named “Character1.sif” into it and want to modify “Character1.sif” from “Scene1.sif” you need to open “Character1.sif” also (Menu->File->Open).

And if you think “this is hella awkward”, I do agree. As a user I also have an issue with that.

1. Do you suggest a better warning message?
  2. Should we automatically open/load the file (for editing) in case an user decides to change a value from this external file?
1 Like

This. Although, there are three quite big problems here.
First, how are we going to handle save button?
Second, how are we going to handle undo/redo history?
Third, if user opened the linked file in a separate tab, what now?

The first issue can be tackled in two ways: