Synfig won't render video

Hi,

Tried:
Ubuntu 11.10, Synfig 0.63.03
Linux Mint Debian 32 bit, Synfig 0.63.03, 0.63.00

I’m an animator looking to start a full company using open source linux programs, including Synfig, but I can’t seem to get it it to render to video. Under Ubuntu 11.10, I made a small test video, (the knight rider tutorial), made it 2 minutes long, 24fps (default), right clicked, went to file - render, target: ffmpeg, named the file BasicKnightRider1.mpg, set video bit rate to 8000 (also tried the default 200) in parameters, and clicked Render. Every time it crashes, and Synfig quits.

I should point out I’m new to Synfig and Linux in general…

I also switched to Linux Mint Debian, thinking gnome 3 in Ubuntu 11.10 might be the problem, but the same thing is happening.

Are there some other settings I need to configure? If someone could provide me with a step by step on how to fix this, I’ll appreciate it.

I had it crash like that too. Try to render as an .avi at 2000 bps. ffmpeg. Seems to work great for me.

After many failed attempts I gave up trying to make Synfig render video - I always render out PNG sequences instead. For me it’s a very good solution as almost everything understands PNG sequences and I can compress them with whatever video compressor I want to use.

As I have to add audio to the animations I create anyway, I usually import PNG sequences from Synfig into Kdenlive, add audio and effects and then render out the finished video from Kdenlive.

Hi omar1,

To help us to debug this trouble you can try to run Synfig Studio from the command line. Please open a terminal (usually under Accessories in Ubuntu) and run this:

$ synfigstudio

If there is a crash, probably there will be a message at the terminal that you can paste here to try to understand what’s happening.