Rotate, scale, miror tools not working ?

Hi,

I’m quite new to Synfig studio, and must say I’m impressed with the software so far. I just had some trouble getting the “origin duck not being at the origin of the shape, but at the origin of the layer” organization but I think I got it.

I have one further issue, with the rotate, scale an mirror tools though.

It might be something I’m not getting about the way these works…

So I open synfig, draw a Bline with 3 ducks, added the green origin one. Whether I select the scale/rotate/miror tool, it seems to have the same effect as the normal tool on the shape. Thats to say it just moves it around, but do not rotate or rescale. I tried to encapsulate my shape,
but stille the same uneffectiveness…

It really doesn’t change anything, it’s like I’m using the normal tool ( the black cursor on a blue circle ).

I noticed two things though :

• Using the mirror tool, it moves only verticaly or horizontaly, whether I press Maj key…

• If i draw a circle or a star, and then select both ducks, then use the rotate tools, the rotate tool seems to work, but quite randomly ( shapes go in all directions, or one duck around the other…)

I’m quit confused with the use of these tools… Can anybody enlighten me on this ?

Thanks in advance,

AB

Welcome to Synfig!

From what you say, it may be that you are using the rotate/scale/mirror tools with only one duck selected. These tools do not modify the shapes as a whole, but rather just the selected ducks. For example, the circle and star do rotate because you had selected multiple ducks.

One shortcoming of synfig is that rotation and scaling are always relative to the center of all of the selected ducks, so when you rotate a star it rotates relative to the midpoint between the center and the circumference. Is that what’s causing the weird rotation you saw?

The following should work:
– For a bline, selecting all of the ducks (Ctrl-A) and then trying to rotate or scale them