newbie question : first sequence using .lst file

Hello everybody !

I’m new to synfig so excuse me if my question is too naive.

I’d like to make a simple film using images. After reading the wiki, I created a . lst file that looks like :
FPS 12
SCAN_20140510_200539984_002.jpg
SCAN_20140510_200539984_003.jpg
SCAN_20140510_200539984.jpg
SCAN_20140510_200802621.jpg

I created a new project using default parameters, and then click : file -> open myimages.lst.

I keep having an error message saying the file is not well formatted on column 1 line 1, which is the F of FPS …

What did I do wrong ?

Thanks for your help !
Luc

Looks alright.
Try with an empty line between FPS 12 and SCAN_20140510_200539984_002.jpg.
Also turn off Cairo render as I think that has problems with jpg-images (alternatively try converting your jpg to png).

You should be using File → Import → myimages.lst instead.

File → Open is for opening Synfig’s native format (ie. sifz, sif). Any other file format else you want to load onto Synfig should be done via File → Import menu.

Hello !

Many thanks for your help ! I went back to the wiki and tutorials, and succeeded to import the frames, export a sifz file, and create an animated gif !

But my images are truncated ! I then went to the Canvas Properties before importing.
I set width/height to 1744x981 and the resolution as 150.
I then import my frames, save the .sifz file and create the animated gif. In the “CMD” console, I have the message following repeated :
synfig(13504) [17:12:56] info: Render broken up into 1 block 860 pixels tall, and a final block 121 pixels tall
synfig(13504) [17:12:56] info: curr_palette.size()=190

The images are still truncated.

What parameter should I set up in order to keep the original size of the images ?

Thanks again !
Luc

If you want to keep the images their original size, go to File -> Setup -> Misc tab and check to see if “Scale New Imported Images to Fit Canvas” is checked. If so, uncheck it.