Newbie advice

Hello

I just found Synfig, and it looks amazing. I am quite new to animation in general, but I would like to make walk cycles of both four legged animals and humans. You talk about both morphing and cut-out animations. I am not sure I understand how morphing works, but I followed the cut-out tutorial in the manual (wiki.synfig.org/wiki/Doc:Cut-out_Animation). Now my animals have more joints than that figure, the humans also have elbows and so on. Will the cut-out also work here to create a bone-like system or how do I do this with Synfig?

Thank you
Søren

Hi neigaard! welcome to the forums.
Walk cycles are the touchstone of any animator, so be patience on obtain good results.

It is possible to do walk side cycles with cut out style or morphing style. But cut out style (as described in the tutorial) is a bit constraining, because you have fixed length for the limbs of the character all the time. In most of the cases it is not true, because the projected lengh of a liimb can change when it is not parallel to the proyection plane and that happens in many walk cycle types.

In any of both styles the procedure is similar. You need to draw your keyframes first to have them as references. There are lots of tutorials at internet to get the basic keyframes for a walk cycle. One of the most mentioned is this one: idleworm.com/how/anm/02w/walk1.shtml. Once placed the keyframes you need to match them with your stuff (cut out or morphing) and the interpolation will do the rest. Of course you sure will need to fix the intermediate interpolations made by the computer by adding new waypoints where needed.

I’ve done a four legs walk cycle in another thread and you can open and study the files to see how is it done. viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1242&hilit=four+legs