Music video with Synfig animation

Hi everybody,

besides my regular job, in my 2nd life I am a musician composing & producing my own songs and music videos. I always dreamed of including animations in my videos and 2 months ago I became active. I searched for a suitable software, got stuck with Synfig and started to realize my first project (a mixture of real and animated sequences). It is called “Der See” meaning “The lake” in English, but anyway music should be a universal language.
I would appreciate any kind of constructive feedback, may it be negative or positive (although the ladder one is preferred :slight_smile: ). If you should have questions on details, I’ll do my best to provide such information (but since I am quite busy with my regular Job, please accept my delayed reply). So here is the video:
[size=150]https://youtu.be/ZlYVa5a-0GE[/size]

Kind regards from southwestern Germany
says: Kellerkind

Good job. Nice atmosphere & mood.

The rest of my post is mostly critical, but that’s because i’m generally more inclined to write critique. Also, i’m only writing in detail about visuals. Hopefully i’m not doing too much nitpicking and my feedback may be useful.

First watch impressions (roughly in order of appearance): animation is “cheap”, but smart enough to make that not very irritating; and amount of animation makes it interesting to watch. Zooming is jerky (seems to be common with Synfig, i think). Next, the contrast between animation and real world video - the style is completely different (more on that later) and the first cut back to real world is without transition. But then the parallel between the two worlds is caught and that is of course cool. The sync moment at ~1:54 seems to be too short to really sink in, but good enough to be noticed. Finally, i notice that the animation is in one place, but at different times, and the real world is in more different places, but mostly with the same light & time of year.

And now for some deeper analysis.