Link spline to single axis

I’m new to Synfig so I’m sorry if this has been asked before. I’ve tried searching this forum and Google without success.

I’m working on a head turn animation. I created the face and the face parts and animated it using a mask to hide the eyes as they go around behind the head.

Head Turn Test No easing.gif

As you can see it doesn’t look so good when the eyes go around behind the head. I’m assuming it needs to ease the eyes at different speeds to accomplish a better head turn. I tried doing this manually but it’s not so good because they aren’t perfectly animated.

Head Turn Test Easing.gif

So I did the “Link to Spline” tutorial and I think that if I can create an oval, link each eye individually to it and have it be non-“homogenous” then I will be able to achieve what I want to achieve. So I’m looking for a way to link the eyes to the spline but have it only link to the x-axis. Is this possible? I’d also like to be able to link the Y-axis to a separate spline to make a quasi 3D affect. Is this possible? Or is is there a better way to accomplish what I’m trying to do? Thanks!

Hi and welcome here,

Not a very good method, better use ‘Onto’ blend method because eyes aren’t sticking out of the face.

Yes, that’s correct. Synfig is 2D software so it doesn’t have a depth (Z axis) so we have to work around it somehow and that won’t be an elegant solution.

I am not sure what is the best way to do it in Synfig, but I personally use method based on translation. Say we have two states: front view (value=0.0) and side view (value=1.0). We then create a translation layer, convert its origin to composite type and export X. After that we can attach other translation layers that locate in separate groups for eyes, nose and other face parts according to main layer, but with different multipliers.

I’ll add an example showing this technique when I come home from my work.

Hello
This being said with all respect: