Keyframes and waypoints?

I’m quite confused by the whole keyframe/waypoint concept.
I know what a keyframe is, I’m an animator. From what I see in Synfig, waypoints are keyframes, but what do the things called keyframes do? I add them but they don’t seem to do anything.

I want to add a key for all points in a shape on my timeline but I can’t seem to do this. There is no way to add waypoints other than moving the points in the shape. When I add what you call a keyframe nothing happens. I add one, then goes to another frame to alter the shape. Now the shape is altered through the timeline. At the frame where I added the keyframe as well.

So, basically, how do I add and work with keyframes/waypoints?

Did you go to the animation mode before altering the shape? The button on the bottom right of the canvas window?

The meaning of keyframes and wapoints is slight off compared to other systems. You define a keyframe to let Synfig generate waypoints when needed (as you appear to do in your description).

G.

1 Like

Thanks.

When I add keyframes no waypoints are created. Is keyframes to be treated more as markers?

How do I add waypoints for all points in vertices for a shape without actually moving the points? (Keyframe does not seem to do this for me).

(Yes, I’m in animation editing mode.)

When first created an object it parameters are constant Values. Same value for all the timeline.
There are two ways of generating waypoints (the colored dots in the timeline and what it is called keyframe in Anime Studio):