Just a couple of questions

Ok I have been reading these boards for the last two or three days and have come to two conclusions

1. you guys are freaking geniuses
  2. I’m in way over my head I think lol

I have decided to try my hand at video editing and some animation. I am a complete newbie to any aspect of this but I do come from an audio recording background. I am Tech Director at my church and I am trying to create worship intro videos that involve kinetic typography. I am using a MacBook pro is x 10.7 something. I am completely new to Macs so I’ve got a double learning curve going on lol. I have a pretty decent basic grasp of GIMP and I love it for graphic editing and I’ve been playing around with Synfig for the last few days and have a good basic understanding of how to create animations and so forth. Here are my questions:

1. is there a beginner guide written in layman (or in my case, idiot) terms that explains more in depth features of this program?

2. in these layman (idiot) terms can someone explain to me how to turn my animations in synfig into a movie I can use with my ProPresenter 4 presentation software ( preferably .mov)?

3. can someone explain the steps in idiot terms of how to use GIMP, jlipsync, synfig, and either blender or kdenlive from start to finish to create an animation with words that follow an audio track? Just a basic explanation not detailed step by step just so I know the order of how I need to accomplish my goal.

Many many thanks in advance!! As I said I’m in way over my head but the only way to learn is to do. If you experienced guys can bear with me and help me learn I will be forever grateful.

Matt

Hi 8thDayStranger!

Before reply your question in detail, I’ll give you one simple advise for Synfig Studio use. Many of the things that can be achieved are obtained using contextual menus (right click).

The only guide we have is the wiki Manual. You should read the Diving In section by doing all the examples you have there.