Importing SVG (Inkscape images) into Synfig

I am new to Synfig. Before I used Synfig I used Pencil but since Pencil could not import vector images (SVG) I decided to switch to Synfig because I was told that it would have no problem with importing SVG images (images that I had originally made in Pencil then vectorized in Inkscape and then was trying to import into Synfig). But after all of this I find that I am having the same problem with Synfig that I had with Pencil. I cannot import or open svg images, jpg images or anything really into Synfig. On the Inkscape forums I read that the problem might be do to formatting. So Synfig can open SVG images from Inkscape if they are SVG 1.0 but in the Inkscape formatting selector I am not finding this option there are only plain SVG and Inkcape SVG.
Has anyone else experienced this problem and resolved it?

Btw, I am running on a windows operating system.

Open the file at Inkscape and save it as “Plain SVG”. It should import into Synfig then.

Anyway, remember that for animation is not recommended to import SVG files rather than create them directly in Synfig. When you import a SVG file, the parser doesn’t think on import the shapes in a way that would be easy to animate them later. You have to reorder the imported SVG shapes to place them in a logic animation grouping structure. Also sometimes the hidden parts of the composition are not drawn in an static image, but later can be revealed during the animation… So IMHO it is mostly useful for backgrounds or static images rather than for animated characters for example.
-G

Synfig does allow importing SVG, to some degree, but the workflow is a bit strange. You need to make sure you’re using Synfig 0.62 before you begin.

To import SVGs, do the following:

1. In inkscape, convert any unsupported objects (e.g. text) to paths.