Help needed: developing a beginner's tutorial [reviewing the process]

Hi guys! I’m doing a master’s in Technical Communication and one of my current courses focuses on the development of a tutorial. Since many of my fellow students could really benefit from an animation tutorial, I’ve decided to create a beginner’s tutorial for Synfig.

My question is: is there anyone willing to review/test my tutorial during development? Expert’s views are also very welcome. Basically: all testing and/or feedback would really help me (and, hopefully, this community too).

The tutorial I’m making focuses on the following basic animating procedures:

• Setting Up the Project
  • Creating a Gradient Background
  • Placing an Image onto the Canvas
  • Creating Vector Images
  • Grouping Multiple Layers
  • Animating: setting up the first scene
  • Animating: movement
  • Animating: rotation
  • Animating: opacity
  • Animating: size

I hope we can make a great beginner’s tutorial together. Thanks!

3 Likes

Great idea but do you know it already exists? :wink:

See on main page: https://www.synfig.org/

Thanks! I must say that I have not seen that tutorial yet. My bad, it looks great!

However, I feel like it is a rather extensive (and thus, possibly, long) tutorial. My aim is to make an as short as possible tutorial covering just what you need to know as a student who wants to create a simple animation for a school project, and not per se for people who want to become really good animators.

Or am I in the wrong place for such a project on this forum?

Yeah, I can help you reviewing and give feedback of what you are working.

That’s a great course @BobSynfig but for some reason it doesn’t show you how to draw and animate vectors in Synfig, Can you believe it!? It’s mainly about cut out animation and use of external assets.

That is really great, thank you so much! I will let you know as soon as I have an update on the process.

2 Likes

I do want to have a look as well! :smiley: