Graphics tablet unresponsive to Synfig

I do apologize if this isn’t the thing I should be posting in this section as I’m rather new to the product and forum.
I’ve been having a lot of trouble getting my wacom bamboo tablet to work with Synfig.
I’m using a Windows machine and the tablet works fine with GIMP and other programs but when I try to sketch on Synfig nothing comes out.
I’ve tried almost every drawing option but nothing comes out onto the canves.
Are there any specific drivers I need or is it just something I cant use?

Hi DasSwift,
I don’t have a windows machine with a wacom tablet attached but I could give you some hints to try to make it work:
First, go to your C:/Documents and Settings/Your user name/Synfig/settings and rename it. This will ensure that any old “bad” settings is removed and replaced by new ones.
Second, with the tablet plulggen on, open Synfig Studio again and go to your toolbox and open the Device Settings Dialog. If it recognizes the device it must be listed there. Usually there are more than one devide listed on the Device Dialog. Select all them one by one and be sure that all they are Disabled. Then one by one Enable it and test the Draw Tool using your tablet. Usually only one of them would work as expected (with pen pressure). Once found, leave it as Enabled and the rest disabled.

Good luck.
-G

Here’s my recipe for getting the tablet kick started w/Synfig under win7.

1. I have to open Synfig by double clicking on the application icon with the pen. If I use the mouse, then Synfig seems to ignore the tablet. (“No input device found”)
  2. Select File, Input Devices. Hopefully Wacom tablet pressure stylus will be listed (or something similar). Just selecting that with the pen seems to kick start the program to recognize Pressure, X tilt & Y tilt (otherwise, I only have 2 inputs listed - X & Y)