First day with synfig and bug :(

Hey Everyone!

I’m new to the whole game of animation. I’m not new to Open-Source and Free Culture, which I actively promote.

So of course when I wanted to work with animation (mainly inspired by the work of Nina Paley) I chose Libre!

Really excited, I started with tutorials. I saw a tutorial based on this:

wiki.synfig.org/wiki/Doc:Animation_Basics

And then proceeded to follow all the steps myself.

The problem came when rendering to gif. It crashed!

Here’s the error message:

(synfigstudio.exe:1020): glibmm-ERROR **:
unhandled exception (type unknown) in signal handler

I’m using the 64-bit 0.64.2 version on a 64 bit Windows 7

Will give any further details that might be deemed necessary.

Can anyone help?

Keep up the good work!

Difficult to reproduce because it seems to be architecture related.
You can help a bit to narrow the problem if:

1. You can confirm that you can or cannot export to png target or ffmpeg target. This would let us know if it is a specific problem of gif target or the render system.
  2. You confirm that you choose Magick++, Auto or ImageMagick as target for a gif extension at the render dialog.
  3. You show the whole output of the terminal (black window) before you close the error message window.

-G

Hi,

I’m experiencing the exact same issue. I am on a Windows 7 64 bit machine. Answering your question:
1.) Exporting as .png worked fine for me. So did ffmpeg.
2.) imagemagick crashed with: (synfigstudio.exe:6972): glibmm-Error **: unhandled exception (type unknown) in signal handler

• magick++: the same, but in line(?) 7648
  • auto: 7884 …
    3.) for ‘gif’ as selected output, the terminal gives the following output:
D:\Programme\Synfig\bin>synfigstudio.exe

synfig studio -- Anwendung starten...

synfig(8080) [23:25:15] info: Loading modules from D:\Programme\Synfig\etc\synfi
g_modules.cfg
synfig(8080) [23:25:15] info: Loading plugins from D:\Programme\Synfig\share\syn
fig\plugins