Eliminates the need to create animation frame-by frame

The debate of whether classical 2D animation is “really” dead or not is still going on in the animation community or even to me (beginner animator-novice) as the fan of classical cartoons. Well, I am the child of the 70’s.

But then, as the computer technology advanced forward, 3D is the “king of animation” in the industry nowadays. What about 2D? Yes the fantastic Princess and the Frog is there. In Europe, Japan or Korea 2D is still around.

When Synfig Studio says "Eliminates the need to create animation frame-by frame…", is it actually talking about moving the objects from point A to B in auto mode. Or what is actually the strength in the the above statement. Or any other features that eliminate in-betweening process but still can produce fluid Disney style animation?

I’m not a fan of flash style animation. Disney, Warner Bros Looney Toons are still in my heart. :smiley:

I’m new to Synfig Studio.

Anybody can comment on this?

It doesn’t, at least not if results like traditional hand-drawn animation are desired.

Synfig just interpolates. It’s strength is that it can interpolate any parameter in pretty much the same way. Interpolating shapes is not that well implemented though, it’s still lots of manual labor (kinda negating the benefits of interpolating in-between frames).

It’s other strength is the ability to “program” calculations into the compositions itself. Mind you it’s not an easy “language” to program with, but it’s something.

I personally think that computer software cannot replace human skill. Well, one can try to do so anyway, but then the results would be different (meaning one doesn’t really replace the other).

Thanks yoyobuae for your explanation technically. I also feel the same way before about the manipulation of shapes or points on the line drawing.