Constant animation speed

Hi there,

I’m new to Synfig & could do with some help.

I’ve created a simple animation: two key frames, with objects simply scaling up and rotating between the two.

The total animation is 48fr @24fps

Now, for some reason the finished animation will not run at a constant speed - the objects all speed up and slow down (at the same time and rate) between the two key frames. It’s a cool effect, but not what I’m looking for.

The only things I’ve done are change the Angle and Scale parameters on the second key frame.

Any help or suggestions would be very gratefully received!

EDITED TO INCLUDE EXAMPLES:

Screen shot of work area
Animation

1 Like

NB. I did not seem to have this issue on a shorter animation I did (half the length). But it’s possible that the speed variation was just less noticeable, I suppose.

You might want to look at linear interpolation between waypoints. I guess your default interpolation is not set to linear, hence you are facing this problem. So just right click on the waypoints that you want to change and set there interpolation type as linear.
BTW it is always good to provide an example animation file regarding your problem.

1 Like

Thank you, I’ll give that a try.

And you’re absolutely right, of course - I just had to step away from my laptop in frustration, I wrote this from my phone :slight_smile:

So I think I did what was suggested, my waypoints are now set as linear (in and out), but the issue seems to be persisting:

Screen shot

Animation

The animation seems to start quickly and then slow on each loop (the animation is one 90 degree turn for each layer)

Hi! I can see now the first keyframe with linear interpolation but not the last one. Can you share your project file to try to figure it out what its going on?

1 Like

Hi ebarranko.

Yeah, I noticed there didn’t seem to be any way points on the last key frame. I’m genuinely not sure why that is…

Is there a preferred way of sharing files on here?