Comics making software

Hello everyone,

I want to make couple of comics digitally before making animations. Hope this way’ll make me on something better.

Is there any free/open source software for comics making? I found couple of softwares(ComicStripCreator, comicado, Rage Maker, etc.,) but those’re just for comic strips & only very less features. I want something like Manga studio or Comic life. Recently I bought 2 softwares(my field related) so I can’t afford right now to buy anything. That’s why I’m looking for free/open source.

Or Is there any better way to make comics?

BTW I’m not good at drawing as I have mentioned that in my first message.

Thanks for your help.

Draw. :slight_smile:

You can’t replace skills with software. Software can improve your skills… even safe you of make a lot of boring tasks, but there is not miraculous software.

So, you must learn to increase your skills… and then, use GIMP or Krita to make the comics. :slight_smile:

Thanks Fenix for your reply. I agree that I need to improve my drawing skills. But my idea is reuse items instead of drawing everywhere.

Simple example:
To make a mini-comics(with 16 pages), I’ll reuse the backgrounds, characters, etc., instead of drawing everything on all panels.

Please check this panel Sample comic page. In this, background & characters are same in all 4 panels, only the differences are expressions of characters & dialogues. So I’ll copy-paste the characters on all panels instead of drawing newly there. I know that I have to do changes for changed expressions. Same-way, I’ll reuse the backgrounds. In this way, I can save my time.

What do you think? Any suggestions?

Hi!
You can easliy use Synfig to make reusable comics. Make a library of poses and rig your characters in an easy cut-out animation way and render each frame seperately as png and put it all together in Inkscape where you can also add text and text balloons.
Greetz!