Cant use seconds

Hi,

I am new here and maybe will look like a complete noob but there is one thing i cant seem to solve (maybe i just need some library)?

Anyway, the problem is that when i follow the animation tutorial, in the properties for said animation i cant set the “Begin time” to seconds (when i do that it will change to frames) and i get an error in the command prompt, something about it not being able to recognize the letter “s” and that it assumes frames instead.

Hmmm,
can you please take a screenshot of the render dialog just before you press enter (just after have been written your time in seconds)?
In any case, you can enter time in the format you want (if recognized) that it would always display it with the format defined by the user in the File>Settings>Misc dialog tab.
Also, full read of the console message would help too.
-G

Same here.
I’ve been trying to use synfig for about 5 minutes.
Following wiki.synfig.org/Doc:Animation_Basics.

The very first task from the official basics tutorial fails.
Changing the End Time (frames) to the value 2s (seconds) fails.
I’m sure this happens for some reason, but the point is, that I am explicitly told to do so and I have no previous knowledge.

This is the worst user experience I can imagine.

HEllo an0ying , welcome here.

But, did you come to get help or just be funny ?

• First 5min for a new software, in a no explicit domain (“art with math” aka spline and co), with his own way of doing things (not a X or Y clone) … it’s more consuming than exploring. Did you gave just 5mins on for example photoshop/after effect/… before doing cool with it ? … etc etc …

• Do you want to progress and solve your problem ? help us to help you… describe what you did, what you get …

I did come here to share this experience so somebody at the right position might know what actually is the problem and fix it.

There is not even a File → Preferences menu.
It is Edit → Preferences.