Any interest on Chroma Key layer?

I wonder if there is a way to make a Chroma Key in Synfig.
If not, is there any interest on having this layer (similar to Luma Key)?

3 Likes

I support this.
Additional ways of masking is always a good thing.

2 Likes

Will anyone be able to draw an icon for it? XD

Perhaps something similar to Luma key’s icon? Since chroma key is very close to it in meaning. I am not good at designing stuff, but here’s my entry:
layer_filter_chromakey_icon
Source:
layer_filter_chromakey_icon.sif (41.3 KB)

Color green is chosen because of green screen, the most popular usage of Chroma key. Here’s how it looks in Layer’s menu (ignore that it says ‘Luma Key’):
LayerMenu

1 Like
5 Likes

Man, you’re quick.
I promise to test and report back some time this week.

2 Likes

Okay, I did some testing, here’s what I found:

1. Tip for ‘Key Color’ is wrong. It reads: “When checked, the Ceiling value is used”. Obviously, a copy-paste error. Should be something along the lines of: “Color to be made transparent”.
  2. ‘Upper Bound’ parameter works weird in cases when colors are very close to the mask. It produces a semi-transparency effect:
    ChromaKey

Which is an error I would guess, because ‘Lower Bound’ doesn’t produce the same effect.

Source:
ChromaKey.sif (10.8 KB)

You can see on the screenshot, that ‘Chroma Key’ doesn’t work well with feathering (white region)/anti-aliasing but I suppose it’s a technical limitation (it would work the same way in a video editor).

1 Like

About the boundaries: I compute how close a color chroma is different from that of key color.

If the value is below the lower bound, it becomes completely transparent. If above upper bound, it stays as it is. In the middle, its alpha channel is proportionally changed.
Do you think it is bad?

If you user doesn’t want this in-between effect, just set lower bound equals to upper bound.

ouch.

I’ll investigate it.

Oh, I see. I didn’t get the full idea how it works. It’s good.