animated writing

Greetings to everyone !
I am completely new to animation and synfig, so my question may be very very basic.
The animation I would like to create is very simple: a letter of the alphabet being drawn. Preferably the letter should be present in the beginning as an an unfilled outline and then it should get filled according to the correct way the letter should be written by hand.
I would like to import a bitmap of the outlined letter into synfig and then animate the writing process. A nice addition would be to add the drawing tool filling the figure. Like a pencil pen or brush doing the actual filling of the letter.
animating the writing process without the outline is also ok. That is start with nothing and end up with a written letter.
The purpose of this is to create a series of videos for teaching Sanskrit students how to write the Devanagari alphabet.
I would be thankful if anyone could either instruct me how to do that, or refer me to where I could find instructions regarding such animation tasks.
Many thanks,
Youval

You might be able to do that by animating the outline width. (info about outline layer here.) I’m still learning Synfig so excuse my lack of detailed information on how to do this.

Hi Youval,
First of all, welcome to the forums. It is great to hear that new people is joining us.
Second I want to tell you that what you want, not only is possible but you’ll enjoy it a lot. Latest Synfig version is specially suited for that kind of task.

First thing you should do is to download and install the latest Synfig Studio version. You will find it here. Although we support Windows, Mac and Linux versions, we preferably refer to the Linux version because it is the platform where we firstly develop the application.

Second thing is get hand on the work!