Advice Needed for a Novice!!

Greetings! I have a 17 year old son with good drawing and graphic skills and who is now interested in learning 2D animation. He a birthday very soon and has asked for animation software. A friend of mine who worked on Coraline suggested Synfig. I will certainly introduce my son to your site. I would also love to hear from as many people as possible with recommendations for other free or purchasable software (windows), tutorial sites, good old fashioned books, etc. I really want him to have a sense of success and not be immediately overwhelmed with technical complexity and information overload. Please help this future colleague get off to a fun and satisfying start! Thanks to everyone for whatever help you can provide!

I can definitely recommend Synfig, it is a fantastic piece of software. For any software as powerful as Synfig there is going to be a bit of technical complexity (I’m still learning it) but there’s some great tutorials linked on this site and on youtube. Also the forum is a great source of knowledge and help (there’s not much software out there where the developers are so involved with the community of users.)

In terms of other software, I don’t know much about the paid software, it is usually well out of my price range. In terms of other free stuff, ‘Pencil’ is another good piece of software. Its designed for frame by frame animation, flick book style animation. This is extremely easy to learn, however making anything more than a brief animation using this style will take a long time.

All in all I’d recommend Synfig all the way. Still has it’s faults, syncing sound to video needs some external software, and the rendering engine is a bit slow (I personally find it works best in Linux if that’s an option for you) But it’s still a fantastic tool, improving all the time.

May I suggest a book instead? - The animators survival kit. It’s THE standard learning and reference book on animation.