Time Loop - Local Time confusion

Hi, I’m new to synfig and I’m having a bit of trouble at the moment figuring out time loops.

What I’d like to know if it’s possible - is how do you get animation before and after the time loop?

For example - if you wanted a circle to go across a screen for a while then loop a bit and then continue, what would you do in terms of settings in the time loop filter?

I have seen there’s a way to break the loop but I honestly don’t understand what the documentation means - is there an example of this on a file anywhere?

First though, I was mostly trying to figure out how to loop within an animation - the pre-loop movement seems to be impossible.

Thank you for your help.

Time loop layer is quite difficult to understand and possibly it may have bugs.
In any case I’ll try to do a tutorial with your simple request to throw some light on this.
Meanwhile, can you please create the desired looped animation by hand to help me on the tutorial using time loop layer?
-G

Here is a video demonstrating the usage of the Time Loop layer.
youtu.be/zs8s9FTXumc
Attached is the sample file.

Explanation:

1. Don’t animate Time Loop layer parameters using other interpolation than Constant. Otherwise your brain might explode :wink:
  2. To not loop, set Duration to be a high time value. I’ve used EOT that means End Of Time.
  3. When you want the loop to start then modify Duration to the loop duration using constant interpolation. In my example it happens at time t=1s and Duration is set to 1s.
  4. When the loop starts, the Link time should be the same than the current time to match the start of loop with the current time and not have jumps.
  5. Once you have finished the loops (say two seconds past, so in my case it is a t= 4s) you have to restore the Duration value to EOT again (what means no duration). Use Constant interpolation.