[Workaround, <= 1.4.4] Synfig Studio refuses to open an image

Dell OptiPlex 9010, Windows 10 Professional running on 4.08 GB free of 208 GB, Synfig 1.4.4
When I click on FILE > IMPORT and select an image, nothing shows. No error message, and no image. I tried a large image and nothing appeared. I need help. (I am also a beginner so I do not know how to animate on Synfig)

Hi and welcome here :slight_smile:

What type of image? A .png?

I have the same issue. I have a new install of the latest version (1.4.4), but when I try to import any image file in any format, nothing happens after selecting the file and clicking import. No error is generated, but nothing is changed on the canvas and apparently no import has happened. Please advise what might be amiss.

@jpcwebb what is your OS?
If Windows, are you using this build? Windows builds updated for version 1.4.4 ā€“ Synfig

I just used the version from the website download link. If this one is different, Iā€™ll give it a try.

so the version I downloaded and installed which isnā€™t displaying any imported graphics is one I downloaded from that same link only the other day, so I must be using the latest. Windows 10 BTW - build 21H2

Are you using an installed version or the ā€˜portableā€™ version?

Hello, you need to save the project, then the images will be imported!

2 Likes

I had the same problem, I thought that it is a bug in synfig. However, when I tried to save the project before importing images, it works !!! ( unexpected behavior )

Before I know this tip, I was using 2 alternatives: drag & drop and import sequence (then select only one image ) . Both works without the need to save the project.

1 Like

Hello Rodolforg

I am using the latest version of Synfig as I only installed it this week. I also am using Windows 11 Pro