Synfig .64 - Layers and rendering

I am trying out Synfig version 0.64 of Windows, and I’m liking it so far. However, I got some questions regarding the layers and rendering.

I been playing around with a vector layer and trying out effects with it - e.g.: adding Blur as a fader to a word-like vector, do a “preview”, if it’s good then render to get the finished product. Now, I add one effect which is Distortion and did the same thing with Blur, did a preview, but when going to render - it gets slower or don’t respond. I’m assuming that it’s the software and it’s just maybe in it’s beta or it may have something to do with my graphics card. I don’t know what’s going on, yet I read in the promo for version .64 that there’s a Cairo render engine and other things regarding to rendering - so I’m quite excited yet confused at the same time, hence I’m new at all of this.

My system has an Intel Dual-Core processor (I’m working on upgrading to an i3 or i5) at 3GHz, 4GB of RAM, Intel HD Graphics (which may be the root of my problem since I don’t have either ATI or NVIDIA - my last computer died on me) on a Windows 8 64-bit systmem (using the Synfig in x86 root file).

Just curious to know.

Thank you, and will await a response,

J

Specifically, which were the render options you have set in the render dialog? It is known that some targets (ffmpeg for example) has troubles with Windows and it simply doesn’t do nothing.
First always try to render to png sequence, that works well in any platform. If it fails, then please share the file and the render settings you used.
-G