SVG import issue

Hi out there.

I’m new to Synfig, and would like to import some of my SVG drawings (scanned and converted pen-sketches) to Synfig as a starting point to animate them. (Maybe later I’ll prefer drawing in Synfig, but not sure. My hand is always at hand you know:)

My problem is that I cannot see my SVG when I import it. Maybe I’m missing some visibility setting or such as a newbie…
I converted from bitmap to SVG via CR8tracer, potracer, re-saved from Inkscape, etc… none of the resulted svg files could be seen after being imported to Synfig… Anyway, I had luck with some SVG files from the internet, no idea what they have which my svg lacks…
You can see my problematic SVG in the attachment.
venember-small-bw.svg

Could you help? This step is really needed for me to start making cartoons…

Hi hermit!
Please use the new svg2sif Inkscape pluging.
synfig.org/cms/en/download/tools/
(scroll down to see the script)
The current SVG built in importer has many failures and probably will be deprecated in the furture.
-G

For svg2sif Inkscape plugin, some objects is missing if I update the object labels.
As a workaround, I need to create a new object to replace existing one.

Hi summoner.

I’m the author/maintainer of svg2sif. If you can attach a problematic SVG file here on the forum (or send it to me privately, e.g. via email) I can examine it and hopefully fix the plugin within a day or two.

Feedback is very important in making sure that the exporter meets everyone’s needs, so if you encounter any bugs or missing features please take the time to report them.

Sure.
Attached you could find the original SVG file, and the output result.
man_2r_temp.sif (40.3 KB)
man_2r_temp.svg

Looks like you stumbled across a platform-dependant bug. I’ll be glad to help, but I would need some details about your computer.