Spline does't follow the path I drew..?

I’m very new to Synfig, so just getting to grips with the basics. I made a brief animation which I was very pleased with, but when I saved it and went back to it, one of my keyframes had changed in a way that wouldn’t let me edit it.

The idea is that a single line outline morphs from shape A (at 36f) to a different shape B (at 48f) finally to shape C (at 60f). I drew shape A using a single spline, then edited that spline at 48f to make shape B, then again at 60f make shape C.

I’m sure it looked fine last night, but now I’ve reloaded my project, you can see from the screen shot that 48f is no longer the right shape. (Look at the roof particularly.) The white line rendered, does not follow the line of the path I drew for it, despite 48f being a keyframe. There’s also no nodes where it deviates to drag back into shape. (I’m aware that I could add some nodes to edit it back into shape, but that would be more of a bodge that might cause more problems down the line, rather a than proper fix.)

Frames 36 and 60 both look fine.

What’s going on? Why does my spline not follow the path, even though it’s on a keyframe?

Thanks.

I think it might have something to do with the fact I added nodes to the spline at 60f. (I’m calling them nodes. In the right-click menu it’s called “Insert Item”.)

When I changed the length in the Keyframes Window from 12f to 11f then back again, nodes appeared on the spline at 48f where the anomalies were, meaning I could doctor it back into shape. This is a messy and time consuming means to an end though, I’m still not happy and I don’t entirely understand what’s going on within the program. If I were to add a fourth shape at 72f, how much of my animation is going to be mucked up next time I reload it?

Maybe it’s just something as simple as the manner in which I’m adding the nodes? Any insight would be useful.

Ta.