Questions about current and (maybe) future features?

Hello!

I’m a total noob with Synfig, trying to learn it though. Here’s a few thing I’ve been really missing so far, it might be I just haven’t found it yet, so be forgiving with my ignorance.

1. A proper line tool based on simply two points. This could be done by adding the option to allow open polygons for instance.
  2. A way to lock the width of a stroke, regardless of canvas zoom parameter setting OR a separate scale parameter for the geometric layers.
  3. A canvas already has two types of built-in transforms, zoom and origin (translate), why not add rotation to it as well? It would be useful when you have many parts rotating in a single animation, all those extra rotation layers take up UI space and time. In fact, rotation and scale parameters would be much appreciated on all geometric layers.
  4. A way to store a pose outside of the frames, maybe by exporting it or similar. Right now I store each pose in the beginning frames, set the animation start at frame X and then duplicate the frames. If you could add exported poses directly into the timeline editor that would be a tremendous help when animating things like speech.

I also wonder
5) what is the best way to introduce a layer in the middle of the animation? Is there some visibility/render on/off? Right now I set amount to 0.0 and then make it 1.0 instantly when I want it to apear. I also experimented with moving layers outside the rendering area, but since they no longer visible, it was unmanagable for me.
6) do you guys render each scene in a separate project and edit the rendered material in some video editor or do you put it all together, with transitions, in synfig?

Phew! :slight_smile: That’s about it. Thanks for your time reading and, perhaps, responding!

1. I do separate projects for each scene and stitch them together with sound, transitions, etc. in the Blender Video Sequence Editor.