New to Animation :D!!

Hi guys, just wanted to introduce myself. I’m an artist who’s never really done too much with their art but now I intend on making either a motion comic or animation with mucho short-cuts (tastefully and skillfully done). Anyways, I have not learned any animation programs whatsoever, but of course plan on learning one to the fullest extent possible (for me and my motivation obviously). I originally bought Anime Studio 8 Debut but after finding out about Synfig I wonder if the advantage of bone-rigging is not that significant compared to the advantages that Synfig has to offer. So, I would like to also ask a couple of questions:

1. I know Synfig is free. Is there any worries about making something original that I use for commercial purposes? I mean, are there any legalities involved that would make that a no-no? I’m not sure about the “license”.

2. Is resolution-change (using vector graphics obviously) really that much simpler in Synfig? I think that I read somewhere that setting up a project in AS8 is of utmost importance if you want a certain res, compared with Synfig where it’s always something you can choose on-the-fly (as long as the ratio stays in proportion). Is this correct or am I in error and both are equally capable?

3. I know that Pencil is supposedly great for hand drawn, frame-by-frame animation. Is Synfig capable of this as well? As in ease of doing so? Also, would it be too difficult to use a combination of programs such as Synfig, AS8 and Pencil to cobble something together? Or am I just better off learning Synfig to a gigantic power level, such as 1 million???

Thanks for any help and I already love the passionate, helpful community. I hope to become a contributing part of it soon :slight_smile:

Also, I’m not a bot :wink:

1. Use Synfig however you want. Any animations you create with it are yours. We’d love to see it adopted by commercial studios :slight_smile: