Moving Squares; Creating Ellipses

Hi all! Synfig newbie here!

Two questions:

First, how do I move squares once I’ve created them? I can move circles and stars by the point in their center, but squares have no point in the center (or anywhere else, it seems).

Second, how do I create ellipses out of circles?

Thanks!

Welcome :slight_smile:
About squares, it depends the type of layer you create

• Rectangle layer: two green dots to animate
  • Rectangle region,
    Rectangle outline,
    Rectangle advanced outline: one green dot, in the center of the workarea
    You can combine them of course.
    The most simple is to create a group and add them inside.
    So, you will have only one green dot for animation.
    Notice you can change the placement/offset of the green dot of a group with Ctrl key :wink:

Thank you!

What’s the difference between a layer and region in this case?

Also, how do you create an ellipse?

For a Square, the layer is defined by 2 opposite corners while the region is made of 4 vertices you can modify with tangentes.
To create an Ellipse, create a Circle layer you will add in a group.
Then expand Transformation property of the group and play with the parameters (scale and angle mostly).
Groups are a lot important in Synfig’s philosophy :wink:

That seems an dramatically over-complex way to create an ellipse. O_o Maybe future versions will make it an easy thing.

Hello Shoal and welcome here,

I recommand you to take a look to the step by step tutorial on the first part of synfig wiki documentation … i’m sure you will be able to move a circle or an ellipse quite fast … and then understand the meaning of rectangle, region, outline, , groups and other synfig layers concepts.

have fun!