Mac Install help?

Can someone please help me install synfigstudios for Mac, 10.5.8, I am completely new at this, so could you tell me the easiest method to install it?
Thanks!

Hi, the easiest way to install Synfig for mac is to use “macport” (Since there is no Synfig installer for mac available)

On this side you’ll find how to install macport; macports.org/install.php
there is a link to download the install file for “Leopard”, (os 10.5), on the same side.
It will take a long time to make the install complete so be patient :slight_smile:

When the “macport” install is ready you have to run this commands in the “terminal”:

1. sudo port -v selfupdate
    this command will se to that macport and all installed will be up to date, it will take a while, when it’s ready then:
  2. sudo port install synfigstudio
    this will also take a long time since all dependencies will be installed.

When this is ready you open terminal and write “synfigstudio” and hit return and Synfig will start.

it says
Error: Couldn’t determine your Xcode version (from ‘/usr/bin/xcodebuild -version’).
Error:
Error: If you have not installed Xcode, install it now; see:
Error: guide.macports.org/chunked/installing.xcode.html
Error:
Error: Target org.macports.extract returned: unable to find Xcode
Error: Failed to install zlib
Log for zlib is at: /opt/local/var/macports/logs/_opt_local_var_macports_sources_rsync.macports.org_release_ports_archivers_zlib/zlib/main.log