list file doesn't work

hello,

i’m new to synfig and i’m trying to do a morph animation test.

i put the synfig file, the .jpg files and the list file (a simple text document) all in one folder. i follow the directions that i found in the morphing tutorial in the manual on wiki (the walk cycle one with the four images). i go into the caret menu, layer, new layer, other, import image.

then on the params dialogue i go to filename, find, and select the .lst file.

the file looks like this:

FPS 4

image1.jpg
image2.jpg
image3.jpg
image4.jpg

i think i set everything up correctly, but somehow, nothing shows up on the canvas.

(i also tried the .lst file like this:

FPS 4
image1.jpg
image2.jpg
image3.jpg
image4.jpg

that didn’t work either)

then i close synfig and open it again, and a small window says that it crashed last time and do i want to recover what crashed.

i’m not sure what i’m doing wrong.

any help would be appreciated. synfig looks like a really great program i don’t want to give up on it because of my frustration.

thank you

Hi.

That seems hard! Try importing like this. Carat, file, import. Then find the file.

This has worked for me all the time. Hope this helps.

Hi gdark999,
image files must be on the same path of the lst file or the path inside the lst file must be the proper one to allow directly find the image file (relative or absolute path)
-G

hello eric1223

i tried what you said, but a window pops up saying that it can’t open an image of .txt format. i understand that’s happening b/c the list file isn’t an image, it’s just text. thank you for your help anyway.

:slight_smile:

what do you mean the ‘path’ must be the same? am i supposed to add some extra information to the .lst file?

if you mean the actual location of the image files must match the .lst file, then it does - all of them are in a single folder, along with the synfig file.

please help.

thank you