layer icon naming

Hi

Do we need to name all the icon file (.png) for layer in a regular naming rule,

for example, currently circle layer refers to circle_icon.png, is it needed to create a link
named layer_geometry_circle_icon.png(or layer_circle_icon.png) to this circle_icon.png file?

and some of the layers icons are just named as “layer_duplicate_icon.png”.

I personally prefer layer_duplicate_icon.png to layer_other_duplicate.png

Hi Jcome,
during the latest release I did some renaming scheme for the icons. As you can see the new icons names are all well formed. The rest are pending on renaming, yes. Maybe you want to code it?. It is a fair easy modification and would introduce you to the coding addiction :mrgreen:
-G

ok, let me have a try , I started learning git this monday :slight_smile:

last weekend, I took sometime on it, and finally, I got it work well on my latop.
So, I will move to next step, create the icons for those layers which don’t have their own one, make patches (iconcontroller.cpp and configure.ac)

once all done, I will submit these :slight_smile:

jcome, please checkout the latest master branch in git before start modifying the code in your local repo. The most updated is the starting branch you use to the modifications the easier to merge with the master branch.
Please update here your progresses. The most atomic commits the best. Large code modifications in one single commit is later a pain to debug. Please, always verify that the modificaitons build and install properly before commit them to the local repo.
I plan to do a long merge of several files due to the documentation I’m doing for synfig-core. Although I don’t think it would interfere with synfig-studio it is better for me to be warned of your modifications for easier collaboration.
Thanks for your contribution!
PS: if you feel strong to do code modifications (bugs or new improvements) in a regular basis, please let me know and I’ll add you to the code writers list.
-G