Install Synfig after Fink Download

Greetings,

I’m very new to downloading software to my Mac. I believe I have successfully downloaded Synfig to my Mac (OS X 10.7.3) using the Fink option. Excited about getting into Synfig at long last, I was stumped as to how to open the software. I found the Synfig files in Finder and read the INSTALL txt note under Synfig. From my understanding, I need to now do another install (my heart dropped).

I opened a new Terminal session and typed the command ‘cd /sw/share/doc/synfig./configure’ (and various other combinations, as I wasn’t sure if I understood the instruction "The simplest way to compile this package is:

1. cd' to the directory containing the package's source code and type./configure’ to configure the package for your system."

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Marti (so close, but no cigar just yet)

I’m not sure what you did, or what you’re trying to do. The binary should be in /sw/bin.

You may want to join the #fink IRC channel on freenode if you’re really stuck.

Hi,

I mightn’t have expressed myself clearly in my initial email (created under the distress of not being able to get into this product everyone seems to be raving about).

Once I have downloaded the Synfig files (I used Fink), how do I open up Synfig on my computer?

I’m used to a Windows style click the ‘exe’ file, or better still, an icon amazingly appears on my desktop - I couldn’t find any such thing. All I found amongst the Synfig files was a set of README and INSTALL texts. This lead me to assume I now needed to do something outside of Fink (as the download was complete), hence the email on this forum.

Marti