Install problem with Windows 7

Hi, I’m very new to computer drawing and trying to learn animation and need help installing Synfig. I am not a computer geek, just an user. I’m a design engineer by day and use Autodesk AutoCAD and Solidworks so I’m not completely computer dumb.

System is windows 7 pro running on an HP laptop 64 bit, model dv7-3085dx. I run Solidworks and aCAD on this system just fine so mem or processing power should not be the problem.
I’ve tried to do a screen shot of install, but no luck pasting it here.
Dialog box says to choose components and all are checked but Synfig Studio. Can’t get it checked.
I cannot find the program.exe file to run program, just the install .exe, it just wants to uninstall and reload itself.

Any prossilbe answers?

Goldwing Rider

Usually leave the default options at installation time is enough for most of the system. I is very weird that Synfig Studio is not checked on the installation process. Probably it can’t be unchecked and it is checked but greyed.

See the installation wizard image would help to fix the issue.
If you still having the screenshot image, I think that you can paste it here. If for some reason it fails, please use imagebin.org/, it is free and very quick.
-G

imagebin.org/202360

Why is the img not showing up?

Hi,
Synfig Studio is checked but greyed out.

Now what? I guess I am missing something. (take that anyway you want :laughing: )

Goldwing Rider

There is nothing wrong.

Greyed out means it is not an option but a must, since your going to install “Synfig Studio”. The others are optional, you can install or not install depending on your demand.

Unless you know exactly what they are, To install all optionals is a good idea for most users.

You need a link to the actual image, not a webpage with the image inside.

According to the install wizard image you have posted, there isn’t anything wrong in the installation process.
-G

I told you I’m a user and not a geek :blush: