I am Luke, plus my first impressions

Hello everyone,

My name is Luke and I “was” hoping to use Synfig studio to create animations since it is an open source project, and I love open source projects mainly when they work properly.

Firstly, before I have a rant over the interface of the program, I shall introduce myself:

I am a student currently studying Business and Law and college and hoping to build up a business in video game development. My first game or project is going to be a 2d game, and looking around to find some decent programs that are easy to use in order to create graphics and animations for this “mystery” 2d game.

First of all, after seeing this program, I thought to myself “this looks promising”. However, now installed on my computer I am regretting having downloading it. Okay it is in “beta” and many things need to be sorted out; for instance, the interface. This is one of the things I have criticised about Paint.NET, which I might add is one of my favourite graphic drawing programs but trying to move to vector drawing - unfortunately, Inkscape is too complicated for me and only some of the tools I can get used to.

Now “trying” to use Synfig, my first impressions and reactions to using it for the first time was - “what is going on with all of these windows?”

Having not really seen the documentation yet, I am hoping to get some information from these forums in terms of how to use this program, and to integrate all the tools into one Window, much like Flash but that’s too expensive for my budget.

Okay after getting over the initial rant of the clunky interface was the actual drawing itself. Very simple, or rather “too simple” for my liking. Again, I can understand that it is in Beta, but as with most vector drawing programs, you should have at least the option to add curves to straight edged objects - Synfig lacks those options and barely a vector drawing program as a consequence.