Hello everyone!

My name is Kuzma, I am 19 years old and I’m from St. Petersburg, Russia.
At first I started to learn and use Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Flash, but recently (six months ago) decided to use free software, so that’s how I first found GIMP and now Synfig.
I guess this is the tool I need to make my dreams of creating cartoons real, but as I am no good artist I also need some good drawing tutorials and advise how to make cartoons better, so I would appreciate any help.
I’m very interested in 2d-animation, want to have hobby creating cartoons, like Adventures of Tintin or Redwall. For now I’ve got an idea to create a fan 2-5 minutes cartoon based on my favorite chapter of The Edge Chronicles series by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddle.
By the way, I walked through some tutorials on synfig wiki, but got stuck on one tutorial with flower: when I try to link a vertex on the top of the sterm with a petal origin, the petal position changes (moves high above canvas) I do not know why this happens and have no idea how do I get rid of this effect.
Anyway, hi all!

Hi Kuzma, welcome to the forums.
For any kind of animation style and any tool used I recommend to pick one animation book and learn from it. The Animator Survival Kit is a good one but there are other as good as them.

Regarding to the flower tutorial, please review step by step the tutorial. One missing step cal make it to fail. If you persists on the same problem, please provide a copy of the working file just before the problem happens. I’ll take a look to it and to the tutorial in case.

-G

Yeah, thanks, The Animator Survival Kit seems to be a good one, for making a kind of start at least.