Hello everybody!

One more new user for Synfig.

I’m 27 & from India. I’m a web developer.

For some reason, I’m researching things on movies, animation, comics, writing, etc., since 2010. Now I’m here for 2D animation & Synfig.
Though I’m not good at drawing(After my school days I never done any drawings), I got interested in animation. I want to learn both 2D & 3D animation.

I want to go with only free/open source programs. Already downloaded Blender latest version but I’m not going to touch that till get good on 2D animation.

For 2D animations, I have downloaded & installed Synfig, Pencil, Vectorian Giotto & other free sticky programs in my laptop. This week I’m going to try something. While comparing these softwares, I find that Synfig is better than other free 2D animation softwares(Hope I’m not wrong) but I found that it doesn’t have sound layer which is important(Both Pencil & Vectorian Giotto has the option.) but I’m waiting for this feature from Synfig team. Please implement this.

Besides, Synfig forum looks good. Pencil-forum don’t accept new registrations. And Vectorian Giotto don’t have forum.

I have a doubt. I heard that some people using multiple softwares(combining Synfig, Pencil & some other 2D animation softwares) to make things. I couldn’t come with those links. Anyway here I found new one(it’s not exact one but similar one)

Any other special reasons(other than features) to use multiple 2D animation softwares?

Currently I’m going through Synfig forums&wiki & other general animation related things. Please give me your suggestions to make me atleast a decent 2D animator quickly.

I’m planning to make animated shorts in future.

Thanks & Cheers,

thatraja.,

Not all good drawers are good animators… as not all good animators have to be good drawers. :slight_smile:

If you have good draw skills is better, of course. But it is not required.

Great decision.