Following Multiple blines

Hi!

Help! I’m a newbie and took on a little project that requires animating an object over multiple blines. I am using 0.61.08-2026 and quickly learned the technique to follow a bline. Now I need to extend that capability to multiple blines.

The best approach seems to be through addition of a “linking bline”, but I can not seem to get my object to move across the linked vertex. I’ve attached an example and hope someone can offer some advice.

Thanks!
James
Linking_to_Multiple_blines.sifz (1.51 KB)

According to your example you want your object to follow several bilines joined. Why don’t do that with a single bline with several vertices? if anyway for some reason you want to do that with several blines you have a workaround for that:

In the Paste Canvas Origin parameter convert the BLine parameter to a Switch convert type. It would give you the followings parameters:
BLine
Link Off (BLine)
Link On (BLine)
Switch

Then convert again (as many times needed) one of the sub parameters to Switch type again:

BLine (LIST)
Link Off (BLine LIST)
Link Off BLine LIST) ()
Link On (BLine LIST) (
)
Switch
Link On (BLine LIST) (*)
Switch

Then export the three original bline LIST of each Outline Layer giving different names. FInnaly link the exported ones to the bline Lists marked with (*) and properly set the amount value an the boolean Switch parameter of each convert type to make the object “jump” from one bline to other.

-G

Genete,

Thanks for the quick reply. The reason I presented the issue this way is because I am animating a handwriting sequence with many repeating letters. I was hoping to make the animation process a bit more cut-and-paste instead of trying to draw each individual letter. I will give your suggestion a try and see which method is most efficient.

Ultimately, I just need to smoothly move the object from the end point of bline#1 to the starting point of bline#2. I’d appreciate any other ideas on how to do this.

Thanks!
James