Crashes

Hi there, I am new to Synfig but I really like the way it works and the tools it has.
I am sad to start my forum experience with a complaint but… Is there anyone who can really work with Synfig on a P4 HT running Windows?
I tried to search the forum without any success. Maybe there are more tricks to improve the experience I should be aware of, except the CPU affinity (will there be a fix for this anyway?).
Right now, Synfig crashed three times in the last five minutes: I only tried to animate a frame of a 2 seconds animation of a door opening.

Thanks in advance

Hi harlock1975,
It is hard to help you without having your specific architecture available.
P4 Hyper threading was it? If it is single core the set affinity option gives you nothing.

Maybe you can help us and yourself by trying to reproduce the crash with a single recipe. Do you remember to be doing something particular during the crash?

Also, please confirm the version you have installed and from where did you obtain it. I guess 0.61.09 from the official sourceforge site. Confirm that you installed the correct GTK and GTKmm libraries versions.

Also you can load some of the provided examples with the program and start doing tests with it, before doing your own animation.
For example, the eye.sif file (the great eye animation from Voira Studios) is a “heavy” one that would be good for testing.
Open it, try to drag the time cursor. Enable the animation mode and modify the animation, save as and load the file again.

Good luck
-G

Hyper threading provides multiple “virtual cores” that are (mostly) indistinguishable from multiple physical cores from a runtime perspective. So, setting this option might help, but it remains a crude and incomplete workaround.

The real problem are programming bugs in either the synfig or thirdparty code, and the Synfig community unfortunately doesn’t have the developers with a combination of time, inclination, knowledge, and a PC development environment.

G.