Best way to make a figure for Animation?

Hello, I’m new in Synfig, and I’m currently at my first tracing of a figure. I have read the manual and the tutorials, but I need some advice from people with more experience.

First of all, I have worked a bit in the past with 3D Animation programs, so I’m kind of used to the idea of making a model and then just deciding how it will move. I think I can do the same with simple figures, creating the figure with all the elements that are obscured with rotation, like hair, and then, when it is time to rotate the character, playing with the order of the layers and stuff like that. But, would this make things easier or more difficult? Would is be easier and faster to have one figure and constantly changing it to match the storyboard, or creating the figure from scratch when needed as the scenes change?

Also, what is the best way, in your opinion, to actually make the figure? Having it as one or few big looping Bline(s) and moving the ducks (what I like to call call “clay method”), or making a looping Bline for every movable piece, like one Bline for every finger (I like to call that “puppet method”)?

Oh, also, how can I make three Blines and then loop all three of them at one duck, creating an arrow? And, can I hide part of a Bline behind another part of the same Bline? Or there is no way and I have to have two Blines for that? I did not find it in the manual… Maybe I missed it?

Thanks in advance.

There is not a general solution. You have to study each scene and evaluate the cost of create a new figure from scratch or reuse a more complex one. A good storyboard is always a good investment.

Same than above. It depends on the complexity of the figure and its details.

Can you draw in other program (or just by a pencil) what you want? I don’t understand “hide part of a bline behind another”
Meanwhile, have you seen the new features introduced in the latest release?

-G