Animation on Maps

Hi everyone,

I am new to this whole world of animation.
All I want to do (at present) is to make an animated Map with a dot (car) moving on the map and highlighting the traveled route.
So far I have the dot traveling on the road, even unevenly as I as I had to insert Keyframe every time the road turns, I have not been able to highlight the traveled road.
Anyone have an idea

Brgds
Anders

Hello and welcome Anders!
You Can Do this in few ways. Either with the advanced outline where you animate the width the line or animating a mask revealing the line.

Hello Rylleman,
Takkar,

Are there any documantation that explane this prosedures as I am totaly new

Best regards
Anders

Yes, there’s a good tutorial here:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2901

That explains how to reveal an advanced outline. Don’t forget an advanced outline can be dotted!

If you also read:

wiki.synfig.org/wiki/Doc:Following_a_BLine

You should be able to do everything you want to do. I used both techniques together to draw the logo with a white “fuse” on this:

youtu.be/qsrrgxSAaxE

Attached is one example file.
The advanced outlines has the option for dashed segments and I think that the default one is ok for your design. If you need help with this, please ask. In any case you can make your own dash combination. To enable dashed outlines you have to mark the ‘Use Dashes’ parameter.
The exposure is made in this way:
The WidthPoint Lists has initially two WidthPoints which are enough for a line exposure.
You have to place one of them at the line start
The other must be placed very close to the other at start of the line.
Then right clicking the widthpoint duck on the bline (you have to show the width ducks first by doing ALT-5) you get some contextual menu. Select Set Side After to be one of the Rounded, Squared or Peak types but don’t select Interpolate. This way the rest of the line from the second widthpoint to the end is not shown due to that the side type of the widthpoint stops it.