A few questions I cannot find the answers to.

1. What render format should I use so that I can add sounds to my animation in a video editor? I’ve looked at my options and the only one that seems plausible is ffmpeg, but I have no idea how to use it. Unfortunately, I’m not a developer (though I have some coding experience) so I’m sure this is probably a really stupid question. Edit I suppose I should rephrase to ask how do I export avi or other movie formats? When I go to render the option does not present itself to me. The Target displays only: Auto, bmp, dv, ffmpeg, gif, imagemagick (wtf?), jpeg, null, null-tile, openexr, png, ppm, yuv420p.
    1a) On a side note: Does anyone know of a free video editor that edits frame by frame?

2. I’ve heard that I can use Papagayo with Synfig. How would I go about doing that?

3. Say I want to make an animation available on DVD. The settings are at a high resolution for the DVD, but I also want to show a preview on my website. How do I resize the animation without cropping it?

4. I’m a traditional animator, and I’ve imported images for frame by frame animations, but I want to use some of my images as objects that can be set to a vector (scrolling backgrounds, bouncy balls, etc). How would I go about doing that?

My OS: Windows XP Professional

You can use what ever format your video editor can read. Regarding to what formats can be obtained with the different targets please check this page: synfig.org/Render_options. I prefer to export to png sequence because ffmpeg gives average results due to you cannot control the parameters passed to it (it is in fact a ppm sequence piped to a call to ffmpeg executable). Yuv420p is also interesting if your video editor can read it. It is lossless codec and paccked in one file. Not good for very long animations.